Puglatmu'j Song

Booglatamootj (The Indian Song)
Written by J. Hubert Francis.
Performed by J. Hubert Francis and Eagle Feather.

J. Hubert Francis was born on the Elsipogtog First Nation in New Brunswick. He has led the Mi’gmaq rock group, J. Hubert Francis & Eagle Feather, for about 20 years. They have recorded three albums, the latest of which, Message From a Drum, received two Juno Awards Nominations, three East Coast Music Award Nominations and a Native American Music Award Nomination. They have performed at Lincoln Center in New York City, among many other American venues, and have done tours of Europe, mainly in Germany. Hubert has been involved with Bear Paw Productions in the filming of 33 documentary episodes in the Aboriginal People’s Television Network (APTN) series, Eastern Tide, by co-directing, music and Narrating in the Mi’gmaq language. The song, Booglatamootj, (aka Puglatmu’j, The Indian Song or Dance of The Little People)  was one of the first songs nominated for a Juno award in 1994, marking the first time the awards included an Aboriginal category.

Used by Permission.

File attachment: 

You are missing some Flash content that should appear here! Perhaps your browser cannot display it, or maybe it did not initialise correctly. The free flash player can be downloaded at the adobe website.